NSW Fire Brigades Roll of Honour

Posted on 4 November 2020
Like 266

The NSW Fire Brigades Roll of Honour, takes pride of place in an engine bay at  Fire and Rescue NSW, City of Sydney Fire Station. This is where the ANZAC Day ceremony held each year. It is considered a sacred place for Brigade members.

The Minutes from the Board meeting of 2nd May 1923 describes the Roll of Honor as follows:

"The Honour Board is massive and is constructed to the design of the department. It consists of six inset copper panels, framed in Queensland Maple. Upon the panels in raised letters are the names of 315 members of the NSW Fire Brigade Service. The panels are constructed by the electrolyte  process at the Governmant Printing Office and it is believed to be the first occasion in which the process has been employed for work of this nature. The woodwork was executed by Messrs Dorhauer & Sons. The Rising Sun was donated by Messrs T. Green & Coy., the cost of the Honour Roll was f194."

There are 315 names on the Board which lists the following:

1       Member of the Board Enlisted

1       Brigade Medical Officer enlisted

64     Permanent Firemen enlisted

237   Volunteer Firemen enlisted

6       Clerical Staff enlisted

6       Workshop Staff enlisted

26     Firemen killed in action


All told 15 Men were Decorated for Bravery or Meritorious Service.

1 CMG, 1 DSO, 2 MC, 5 DCM, 6 MM, 1 MSM, 5 MiD

RM Sadler received both a DSO and MC

BG Redding DCM is not listed on the Roll of Honor

SW Aldenton MC, WT Carr MSM, HA Coveny MM, did not have post nominals placed after their names.


The Roll of Honour was unveiled by the Honourable C W Oakes, Colonial Secretary, Minister for Public Health and Acting Premier on the Second of May 1923 before a large crowd, which included relatives of some of the fallen soldiers.

Research has discovered a number of Men from NSW Fire Brigades, who served and whose names are not listed.

These Men are:

3793    Pte       Charles. Victor Leo                 24th Inf Batt

3619    Pte       Cook. Charles William            13th Inf Batt

1454    Pte       Coulton. Robert Austin            C Company, 34th Inf Batt        

1602    Tpr       Gee. Charles William                 6th Sqdn, 2nd Remount Unit

165      Tpr       Hamilton. William Samuel          12th Reinf, 7th LH   

1441    Pte       MacNeill. James                       13th Inf Batt & 55th Inf Batt

2680    L/Cpl    Wade. Frederick John                  39th Inf Batt

3528    Pte       Weir. William Hutchison                  45th Inf Batt

474      Dvr       Whitnall. William Henry                 2nd M.G. Batt

4686    CSM     Redding. Bert Garnet DCM         54th Inf Batt  KIA


12070  CPL      Sturch. Frederick                         Royal Navy

                                                                           NSW Naval Contingent – China


                                                                              9th Field Ambulance AIF

                                                                              35th Aust Inf Bn AIF


A video made in 2015 brings to life a number of names on the Roll of Honor.

This can be viewed at: